People, papers and presentations for Aug. 16, 2021


The Baker Institute for Public Policy’s Kelsey Norman, fellow for the Middle East and director of the Women’s Rights, Human Rights and Refugees Program, has been awarded the 2021 Emerging Scholars Policy Prize for her essay “Asylum Can’t be Outsourced: The Danger of Politically Convenient Solutions to Migration.” Perry World House, the University of Pennsylvania’s global affairs hub, and Foreign Affairs, a publication of the Council on Foreign Relations, host the annual competition to encourage scholars to translate their academic research on a major global policy issue into an essay and make their ideas more accessible to policymakers.

Yan “Anthea” Zhang, the Fayez Sarofim Vanguard Professor of Management at Rice's Jones Graduate School of Business and president-elect of the Strategic Management Society (SMS), is a newly elected fellow of the SMS. Fellows are members who are recognized for significant contributions to the theory and practice of strategic management.

Jim Blackburn, Baker Institute Rice Faculty Scholar and professor in the practice of environmental law, has been elected to the American College of Environmental Lawyers. One of 22 inductees, Blackburn was selected as an active fellow for his distinguished experience, high standards of practice and substantial contributions to the field of environmental law.

More than 1,100 people attended the online NT21, an annual international conference on the science and application of nanotubes and low-dimensional materials, hosted this year by Rice University. The conference was organized by professors Junichiro Kono, Matteo Pasquali and Bruce Weisman and featured opening remarks by Nobel Laureate Robert Curl, Rice’s University Professor Emeritus and Kenneth S. Pitzer-Schlumberger Professor Emeritus of Natural Sciences, and talks by President David Leebron and professors Pulickel Ajayan, James Tour and Boris Yakobson.

Four Rice students have earned Department of Energy Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships, which will afford them the opportunity to work at DOE national laboratories. Computational physics and materials science and nanoengineering major Max Bowman and mechanical engineering majors Renly Liu, Praneeta Nalluri and Divya Wagh are among 129 students chosen from U.S. institutions for internships beginning this fall.

Tiffany Bisbey, a doctoral candidate in Industrial and Organizational Psychology at Rice, is the recipient of the 2021 RADM (Rear Admiral) Fred Lewis Postgraduate Scholarship, a $10,000 award sponsored by the Interservice/Industry Training, Simulation and Education Conference (I/ITSEC). I/ITSEC is the world's largest modeling, simulation and training event and is organized by the National Training and Simulation Association (NTSA), which promotes international and interdisciplinary cooperation within the fields of modeling and simulation, training, education, analysis and related disciplines. The NTSA is an affiliate subsidiary of the National Defense Industrial Association.