Rice Architecture bestows virtual awards

Members of the Rice Architecture community gather for the school's annual awards. Photo by Shawna Forney

Members of the Rice Architecture community gather for the school’s annual awards. Photo by Shawna Forney

Usually, Rice Architecture students, faculty, staff and friends fill the Anderson Hall courtyard for the annual awards ceremony. This year, they filled a lot of screens, as scores tuned in via Zoom for the May 4 event.

The top awards were given for the year’s best design projects, all of them particularly extraordinary for the fact that students had no access to the school’s resources for the last few months of the semester.

The top awards are as follows:

The William Ward Watkin Traveling Fellowship, given for the best senior designs in the spring 2020 semester, went to Anna Fritz (first place), Rita Xiong (first place), Shree Kale (second place), Taylor Li, (second place), Stephanie Tyler (third place) and Beril Uzmen (third place).

The Margaret Everson-Fossi Traveling Fellowship Prize, given for the best design projects in the advanced option studios during the academic year, went to Andrew Bertics and Kohen Hudson; Brendan Carr; Emilia Cavallaro and Yao Wang; Lara Hansmann and Hannah Wang; Jenny Heon, Kristi Maulding and Ashley Whitesides; Kejia Lu and Minhui Zhou; Sarah Lumelsky, Peiyi (Steve) Hu and Kalyani Bhatt; Alexandra Oetzel and Alfred Wei; and John-Alexander Rudd.

The William D. Darden Thesis Award, given to a masters of architecture candidate on the basis of an outstanding thesis, went to Tiffany Xu.

For all the awards, visit the Rice Architecture webpage at https://arch.rice.edu/latest/news/rice-architecture-honors-top-students.

About Mike Williams

Mike Williams is a senior media relations specialist in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.