People, papers and presentations

A Construct project led by Andrew Colopy, an assistant professor of architecture, has won a 2019 Texas Society of Architects Studio Award. The project, Accessory, was a research studio Colopy led in 2017 that also formed part of the “Six Projects on Accessory Dwelling” pop-up exhibition at the Moody Center for the Arts. Students named along with Colopy are Francis Aguillard, Claire Chalifour, Hillary Davlin, Seth Defore, Jordan Gracia, Rachel Grady, George Hewitt, Younha Kim, Haotian Ma, Micah Piven, Lauren Turnage and Jiaxing Yan. The Texas Society of Architects, which bestows the awards, also honored Rice Architecture alumna Kalen McNamara for her thesis project, “Discontinuous Monument.”

About Matt Wilson

Matt Wilson is a senior editor in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.