Rice Architecture honors top students

Dean Sarah Whiting addresses the crowd at the Rice Architecture awards April 30. Photo by Tami Andrew

Dean Sarah Whiting addresses the crowd at the Rice Architecture awards April 30. Photo by Tami Andrew

Rice Architecture students were honored for their achievements at the school’s annual awards ceremony April 30.

The William Ward Watkin Traveling Fellowship, given for the best senior design in the spring 2018 final reviews, went to Ethan James Chan. Second place went to Andrew Bertics, third to Vera Tian and honorable mention to Samantha Ding.

The Margaret Everson-Fossi Traveling Fellowship Prize, given for the best design project for the options studios during the academic year, went to Seth Defore. Deok Kyu Chung took second, and third went to Ekin Erar, Veronica Gomez and Hannah Yeung.

Linda Sylvan and Andrew Bertics. Photo by Shawna Forney

Linda Sylvan and Andrew Bertics. Photo by Shawna Forney

Bertics also won the inaugural Linda Sylvan Fund Award for Architecture Education, given in honor of the longtime Rice Design Alliance director, who retired in 2017. The fund supports research or travel for architecture students who embody the spirit of Sylvan’s leadership and the values of the Rice Design Alliance.

Shinji Miyajima won the first STOA International Architects Inc. Award in Architecture,which provides merit-based financial assistance to an outstanding advanced international Bachelor of Architecture or Master of Architecture Rice student. Preference is given to students interested in returning to practice architecture in their countries of origin.

Other winners:

AIA School Medal: JP Jackson.

AIA Wichita Falls Chapter Scholarship: Kajal Patel.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal: JP Jackson.

Anderson Todd Award: Emma Scott and Claire Wagner.

Barbara and Thomas McKittrick Award: David Rader.

Berda and Charles Soon Chan Memorial Scholarship: Xinyu Chen.

Brett Michael Detamore Award in Architecture: Xi Luo.

Central Houston Scholarship: Harish Krishnamoorthy.

Chambers-Chapman Award: Andrew Clifton.

Charles Tapley Award: Emilia Cavallaro and Xinyu Chen.

Chelsea Architects Award: Serena Liu.

Chillman Prize: Andrew Bertics.

Class of 1965 Scholarship in Architecture: Anna Fritz and Sebastian Grande.

Edward B. Arrants Award: Monica Burckhardt.

Elinor Evans Centennial Award: Gabriella Feuillet.

Erin MacKenzie Peck Freshman Prize: Harish Krishnamoorthy.

Gene Hackerman Award (Graduate): Veronica Gomez and Rose Wilkowski.

Gene Hackerman Award (Undergraduate): Emilia Cavallaro and Samantha Ding.

George Harrell II Memorial Scholarship: Ana Escobar.

Guy Hagstette Award: Daniel Kleeschulte and Julie Klosterman.

H. Russell Pitman Graduate Fellowship in Architecture: Leyuan Li, Alex Palmer, Grey Peterson and Hannah Perrino.

Hermon F. Lloyd ’31 F.A.I.A. Scholarship: Anna Fritz.

Hugh M. Cunningham Grant: Xinyu Chen.

Jay and Fon McLure Scholarship: Andrew Clifton.

John Crowder Traveling Fellowship: Jack Murphy and Tiffany Xu.

John T. Mitchell Traveling Fellowship: Drew Heller and Kohen Hudson.

K2LD Internship: Hannah Yeung.

L.F. McCollum Scholarship awarded by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies: Samantha Schuermann.

Lonnie Hoogeboom Scholarship: Neha Sahai.

Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts awarded by the Dean of Undergraduates: Huidi Xiang.

M.N. Davidson Fellowship: Madeleine Pelzel.

Mary Ellen Hale Lovett Traveling Fellowship (Graduate): Shinji Miyajima, Hannah Yeung and Yixin Zhou.

Mary Ellen Hale Lovett Traveling Fellowship (Undergraduate): Phoebe Cox, Anna Fritz and Sebastian Grande.

Michael Maraldo Sr., Southwest Terrazzo Association Architecture Scholarship: Toshiki Niimi.

Milton-Bowles McGinty Scholarship: Dong Hun Baik, Shreekumar Kale, Sydney Knight and Stephanie Tyler.

Morris R. Pitman Award in Architecture: Kalyani Bhatt, Ekin Erar, Daniel Kleeschulte, Philip Niekamp, Steven Collard, Samantha Schuermann and Hillary Davlin.

Nunnelee Preceptorship Award: Lara Hansmann, Sarah Lumelsky, Madeleine Pelzel, John Rudd, Shikun Tang and Hannah Wang.

Ralph S. Herman Memorial Scholarship: Zach Gwin.

Rice Architecture Academic Award: Lara Hansmann.

Rosemary Watkin Barrick Traveling Fellowship (Graduate): Ana Escobar.

Rosemary Watkin Barrick Traveling Fellowship (Undergraduate): Ilya Rakhlin and Lara Hansmann.

Mildred Crocker Staff Award: David Rader.

S.I. and Susie Morris ’35 Endowed Scholarship: Eric Cheung, Nell El Souri and Emma Brown.

Tau Sigma Delta (Graduate): JP Jackson, Evio Isaac, Kalen McNamara, Daria Piekos and Keegan Hebert.

Tau Sigma Delta (Undergraduate): Lara Hansmann, Andrew Bertics, Ethan Chan and Patrick Kunkel.

Texas Architectural Foundation AIA Grant: Ana Escobar.

William D. Darden Award (W. D. Darden Scholarship for Architecture): Daria Piekos.

Ziegler Cooper Award in Honor of Vivian Ziwei Guan: Shreejumar Kale and Amanda Spitzer.


About Mike Williams

Mike Williams is a senior media relations specialist in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.