People, papers and presentations

Rice alumnae Elisa Arango, Susannah Dittmar, Lauren Payne and Sanika Rane are finalists in the Collegiate Inventors Competition sponsored by the National Inventors Hall of Fame for their Universally Friendly Obturator, a customizable device developed at the Oshman Engineering Design Kitchen that simplifies radiation therapy for patients with cervical cancer. They will face off against four other undergraduate teams in a virtual presentation Oct. 28, with winning teams to be announced the next day. Their advisers are Dr. Michelle Ludwig and Dr. Alexander Hanania at Baylor College of Medicine and Matthew Wettergreen, an associate teaching professor in bioengineering at Rice.

About Matt Wilson

Matt Wilson is a senior editor in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.