People, papers and presentations

Jean-Christophe Blancon, a senior research scientist in Rice’s Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, is one of two winners of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics’ Commission on Semiconductors Young Scientist Prize. The biennial prize honors “outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications made by early career scientists.” Blancon, who joined Rice this summer after four years at Los Alamos National Laboratory, was honored for his work “elucidating mechanisms of formation and dissociation of exciton states in solution-processed perovskite quantum well semiconductors for efficient optoelectronics.” Blancon’s work on perovskites and its applications to solar cell technologies with Rice’s Aditya Mohite, an associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and of materials science and nanoengineering, was featured this year in Rice News.

Tony Payan, the Françoise and Edward Djerejian Fellow for Mexico Studies at Rice’s Baker Institute for Public Policy and director of the institute’s Mexico Center, was recognized by the Mexican government as one of 31 “Distinguished Mexicans” who live abroad. The honor recognizes individuals who are outstanding in their professional fields and demonstrate a continued commitment to Mexico, according to the Aug. 6 announcement.

Biophysicist José Onuchic has been inducted to the National Order of Scientific Merit by the Brazilian National Council in Science and Technology chaired by Brazilian President Michel Temer. Onuchic, the Harry C. and Olga K. Wiess Chair of Physics and a professor of physics and astronomy, of chemistry and of biosciences and co-director of Rice’s Center for Theoretical Biological Physics, was awarded the Grand Cross, the highest level of recognition, for his contributions to science. The National Order of Scientific Merit, established in 1993, is Brazil’s most important award in science and technology and honors national and foreign personalities for their contributions.

Kristen Schlatre, director of the Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership at Rice’s Glasscock School Continuing Studies, is the recipient of this year’s M. Anne Murphy Award for Professional Advancement given by the Association of Fundraising Professionals’ Greater Houston chapter. Schlatre will receive the award at the association’s National Philanthropy Day awards luncheon Nov. 15.

Best Architecture Masters, an independent researcher platform that ranks postgraduate architecture programs, has named Rice Architecture’s master’s program the 15th best in the world. The rankings, in their first year, were determined by a committee of 15 from 11 countries who judged educational-performance indicators that included quality and internationality of faculty, alumni and postgraduate programs.


About Matt Wilson

Matt Wilson is a senior editor in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.