Fagundes receives 2018 Neal Miller New Investigator Award

Christopher Fagundes, an assistant professor of psychology, received the 2018 Neal Miller New Investigator Award from the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research (ABMR) in recognition of outstanding research.

CHRIS FAGUNDES (Photo by Jeff Fitlow)

CHRIS FAGUNDES (Photo by Jeff Fitlow)

The academy presents the award annually to a distinguished early career professional whose work best exemplifies imaginatively conceived and carefully conducted research in the field of behavioral medicine. As the awardee, Fagundes will give a lecture June 28 at the academy’s annual meeting in Hilton Head, S.C.

“I am extremely honored to receive this award,” Fagundes said. “I am indebted to my postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, staff, undergraduate research assistants and collaborators who have made this possible. I want to express my sincere gratitude to the Rice leadership for providing me the space and resources necessary at the BioScience Research Collaborative to conduct high-quality research that integrates biomedical and behavioral science to promote health and reduce disease burden.”

Fagundes’ research is at the interface of health psychology, affective neuroscience and psychoneuroimmunology. He joined Rice’s faculty in 2015.

ABMR’s new investigator award is named for the academy’s first president and co-founder Neal Miller, who was also the first psychologist to receive the National Medal of Science, the second president of the Society for Neuroscience and the 21st president of the American Psychological Association.

Founded at a 1978 Institute of Medicine conference, the ABMR is composed of distinguished scholars elected by their peers for outstanding contributions to behavioral medicine research.

More information on the award is available at https://bit.ly/2I5TxBF.

About Amy McCaig

Amy is a senior media relations specialist in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.