Winners announced for 2015 Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium


Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium overview

Student teams competed for prizes in the annual Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium at Tudor Fieldhouse.

More than 250 students competed for cash prizes in the annual campuswide Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium April 15. Students in all disciplines had a chance to share their research and design projects with the Rice and Houston communities through displays and presentations at Tudor Fieldhouse.

The symposium, put on by a student committee in conjunction with the Center for Civic Leadership, featured posters, oral presentations and cash prizes awarded by faculty and graduate student judges.

Prizes were awarded in the following categories:

School of Humanities (for top three projects): Karen Resnick; Lexi Perez; Kaylee Yocum

School of Social Sciences (for top three projects): team of Madhuri Venkateswar, Jacob Jaffe, Carolina Osuna and Jan Dudek; Mackenzie Nettlow; team of Dylan Dickens, Jake Krause, Lauren Howe-Kerr and Chynna Foucek.

School of Natural Sciences (for top four projects): Peter Cabeceiras; Ibrahim Akbar; Marie-Therese Valovska; Moez Dawood.

School of Engineering (for top four individual projects): Ken Groszman; Joao Ascensao; Erin Anderson; Veronica Gough.

Best Group Project in the School of Engineering: team of Pooja Yesantharao, Linh Nguyen, Yara Aboshady, Carlos Carames and Michael Gwede.

Baylor College of Medicine EMS Collaborative Research Group Award: Emily Huang; team of Ryan Pappal and Mohammad Alsheikh-Kassim.

Center for Civic Leadership Prize: team of Madhuri Venkatewkar, Jacob Jaffe, Carolina Osuna and Jan Dudek.

Center for Energy and Environmental Research in the Human Sciences Prize: team of Nick Thorpe, Kelsey Walker and Sea Hoon Kim.

Chao Center for Asian Studies Prizes: Justin Park; Karen Resnick.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Prize: Nikola Dyulgyarov.

Humanities Research Center Prizes: Lexi Perez; Hurst Williamson.

Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology Prizes: Molly Cisneros; team of Dylan Dickens, Jake Krauss, Lauren Howe-Kerr and Chynna Foucek; team of Stephen Xia, Momona Yamagami and Tianyi Yao.

Rice Neuroscience Prizes: Ibrahim Akbar; Daniel Connolly; Lucy Lai.

Rice Space Institute Prize: team of Chris Chuckran, Neel Radia, Tealim Roh, Jeffrey Tsang and Gustavo Villarreal.

Rice 360Institute for Global Health Technologies Award: team of Matthew Stampfl, Katherine Li, Wei Shi, Angela Liao and Qiuyi Wu.

Shell Center for Sustainability Awards: Pooja Yesantharao; Beineng Zhang; team of Madhuri Venkateswar, Jacob Jaffe, Carolina Osuna and Jan Dudek.

Smalley Institute Prizes for Nanotechnology: Rachel Lim; Joann Pan; Angel Garces.

Jenessa Shapiro Student Choice Award: Adeola Adegabi.

Judges were from Rice, Baylor College of Medicine, Chevron, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Methodist, National Oilwell Varco, Page, Hess Corp., Shell, Texas Children’s Hospital, the University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Science, the University of Texas Health Science Center, InterOPERANT, Bellicum Pharmaceuticals and the Harris County Housing Authority.




About Mike Williams

Mike Williams is a senior media relations specialist in Rice University's Office of Public Affairs.