Faculty, staff honored for excellence in teaching, mentoring, service

Each year Rice honors members of the Rice community who have served the students through outstanding teaching, dedication and service. Below are recipients of some of this year’s awards:

Jonathan Silberg


Richard Baraniuk


Presidential Mentoring Award

The 2014 Presidential Mentoring Award went to Richard Baraniuk, the Victor E. Cameron Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Jonathan Silberg, associate professor of biochemistry and cell biology. The award is given to Rice faculty members who demonstrate a strong commitment to mentoring graduate or undergraduate students.



Jeffrey Fleisher


Lin Zhong


Charles Duncan Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Jeffrey Fleisher, assistant professor of anthropology, and Lin Zhong, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, shared the 2014 Duncan Award, which is presented by Rice deans upon the recommendation of senior faculty. It honors a tenure-track or tenured faculty member who has less than 10 years of experience.



Philip Kortum


Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize

Phil Kortum, assistant professor of psychology, received the 2014 Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize. This award goes to a nontenured assistant professor who demonstrates outstanding commitment to education in the liberal arts or sciences, as determined by student evaluations.



David Worth


Sarofim Teaching Prize

David Worth, senior lecturer of humanities and director of forensics, received the 2014 Sarofim Teaching Prize. This award is given to a lecturer in the School of Humanities who has shown exceptionally high qualities of professionalism and dedication to students.




About Rice News Staff

The Rice News is produced weekly by the Office of Public Affairs at Rice University.