Faculty, staff honored for excellence in teaching, mentoring, service

Each year Rice honors members of the Rice community who have served the students through outstanding teaching, dedication and service. Below are recipients of some of this year’s awards:

Mark Embree


Helena Michie


Presidential Mentoring Award

The 2013 Presidential Mentoring Award went to Mark Embree, the John and Ann Doerr Professorship of the Center for Engineering Leadership and professor of computational and applied mathematics, and Helena Michie, the Agnes Cullen Arnold Professor of Humanities and professor of English. The award is given annually to Rice faculty members who demonstrate a strong commitment to mentoring graduate or undergraduate students.


Elaine Howard Ecklund

Howard Ecklund

Charles Duncan Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Elaine Howard Ecklund, associate professor of sociology and director of the Program for the Study of Religion and Public Life at Rice’s Social Sciences Research Institute, earned the 2013 Duncan Award, which is presented by Rice deans upon the recommendation of senior faculty. It honors a tenure-track or tenured faculty member who has less than 10 years of experience.


Anthony Varilly-Alvarado


Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize

Anthony Varilly-Alvarado, assistant professor of mathematics, received the 2013 Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize. This award goes to a nontenured assistant professor who demonstrates outstanding commitment to education in the liberal arts or sciences, as determined by student evaluations.



Shira Lander

Shira Lander

Sarofim Teaching Prize

Shira Lander, the Anna Smith Fine Senior Lecturer of Jewish Studies, was honored with the Sarofim Teaching Prize. The annual award is given to a lecturer in the School of Humanities who has shown exceptionally high qualities of professionalism and dedication to students.




About Rice News Staff

The Rice News is produced weekly by the Office of Public Affairs at Rice University.